Progress

Theres been construction on a building near downtown for a year now. It’s coming along nicely. I’m not sure what it was before the re-development, but right now it’s looking like it’s going to be an office building.
ToBeOfficeBuildingA Cross-fit gym attached to my apartment closed it’s business and the building was replaced by offices. On the other side of my apartment a dance studio was replaced by an office space.

Offices are coming up all around me. Is this harking a new age of growth and flourishing industry?

I am cynical about that prospect. I’ve seen the same pattern in the housing crises, so I’m wary of such high level of growth. “It’s hype” is what I say to myself every time I see it, or hear about so and so finding a Venture Capitalist to fund their internet or mobile idea.

Why is everyone investing so heavily on this industry? Lots of people have made money off of it.. in the past. And that’s the key danger that I fear people, including smart capable successful venture capitalists, are falling prey to.

Past results are not guaranteed to repeat itself in the future.

Something is happening in the tech industry right now. Let’s hope that it’s something great.. but I honestly suspect it’s going to be something bad.

Either way.. the best we can do is try to enjoy the rollar coaster ride that is life.

Leave a Reply

