Losing 50 pounds of my past

From the age of 7 to 22 I was overweight. But something happened after I graduated from college and I lost almost 50 lbs in less than a year.
So what happened? After a lot of research and self investigation, I found that it was actually what was happening since I was 7 years old that was the key to my weight loss. When people aim to lose weight, or aim to achieve any goal, they intuitively look to the future to see what needs to be done. But sometimes the real solution is behind you, and it’s counter-intuitive to find out why you aren’t already where you want to be.
What I knew about losing weight was to exercise regularly. I had that goal in mind and I took the actions that I thought would change my future. I remember from when I was in 6th grade, I’d come home and curl my back-pack full of textbooks. I would bike around the neighborhood almost every day for 30 to 45 minutes. It was regular exercise, but I was still overweight and getting heavier. By the time I was an adult my weight would fluctuate between 190 at my best, and 210 at my worst. In the mornings I would run around my block, barely breathing by the time I got home, my shins aching from pushing my large body to finish the near one mile run. And still it didn’t seem like I was budging anywhere below that 190 mark.
So what was going on? Why was it that I was pushing myself regularly and nothing was happening? I thought I knew what actions was required to change my future, but I never took the time to sit down to think about what it was about my past that affected me right now.
After graduating from college I got a job and a gym membership to LA Fitness. Suddenly I saw the fat melting from my body. Within a year I was skinnier than I’d ever been in my life, I had finally lost the weight and I’ve reached my goal, but I didn’t know how I did it. It took me a while and a long journey into the nuances of body health, but now I believe I understand, and the key is in my past.
At age 6 my family and I moved to America. I had lost all my friends and no one to play with. I became depressed and I developed an eating disorder which is all too common, eating to make myself feel better. I would lay on the couch and read to escape reality while munching on chips and candy. What was worse, I wouldn’t eat lunch at school. Where other kids itched for lunch time, it was something I dreaded. It was when the bullies would get me, when I’d face socially awkward situations around the lunch table, when I’d have no one to play with during recess and wait painfully alone for recess to be over. I began avoiding lunch and kept that habit all the way through college where I wouldn’t eat or play during school hours.
This mid day sedentary fast, and then another night time fast of 7-8 hours while I slept, caused my metabolism to shut down. No matter how much exercise I did, my body was not going to relinquish that essential storage of energy because it was in shock all the time.
When I graduated and began my career life, things settled down into a routine and I began to take food to work and eat something regularly every 2 or 3 hours. My body finally calmed down, increased its metabolic rate, and let go of those fat storages. Now the same amount of exercise that I’ve been doing all my life actually made a difference. It was my past and the habit I’ve built up since I was a child that was preventing my future goals from occurring. I got lucky and came upon the trigger to my weight loss by accident. But I wasn’t so lucky in that it took me almost 15 years to come across that realization.
There is something in your past that might also be preventing the future that you want. Of course it doesn’t help to dwell in the past and make excuses either. What is required is a critical analysis, understanding, and a therapeutic release of the past so that you can let go of those habits and begin a new lifestyle. Now I make sure to eat regularly and I’ve stabilized at a much healthier weight. I don’t skip breakfast and I try not to eat too much in the latter part of the day. I make sure to eat something small when I get hungry and avoid large meals. This is such a powerful lifestyle change that even when I don’t exercise for weeks, my weight doesn’t shoot up like it used to. And I also have a lot more energy so that when I do work out, it’s not as painful.  Sometimes it’s not worth it to act blindly and to sit down and do some deeper soul searching. You might find, like I did, that the problem is hidden in your past and the solution is much simpler than you think.

Leave a Reply

