Mettle

Greatness is not caused by how much you know or how hard you work. Greatness is a function of how much courage and how much integrity you have. Courage is to admit to the truth when you’re wrong and to do what is right when it’s hard to do so. Integrity is when your thoughts, emotions, and actions are in alignment with what you idealize as the truth.
If what I just said is true, the level of greatness at which I have reached my life at this point is due to the level of my courage and integrity.
That’s a pretty sad realization because if I were to die tomorrow, I will be largely forgotten by humanity in a couple generations. Maybe one day one of my ancestors will think back, like I do now, and wonder if I was also thinking of how futile my existence seems.

Leave a Reply

