Use the shit out of this phrase

As we walked out of the restaurant with our much anticipated end-of-the-week-binge lunch, my coworker said out loud:
“I am going to eat the shit out of this food.”
It wasn’t a new phrase to me, or a new method of use for that phrase. But for some reason, that specific Friday mid afternoon, something clicked inside my head.
And heart.
I now, internally and externally, use that phrase with much delight and innocent wide-eyed wonder.
“I’m gonna watch the shit out of this movie.”
“I’ll work the shit out of my job.”
“I love the shit out of my girl.”
“I’m gonna write the shit out of this post.”
There is no other phrase that I can think of that expresses, with such succinctness, delight, excitement, passion, inspiration, and motivation, an emotion towards a particular task.
It’s a phrase of the successful, the proud, the worthy. It is the expression of the human that delights in his or her own life and his and her own abilities. It’s both a warm hearted gesture as well as a cold rational decision. It is like a prayer, a meditation, a fierce cry before engaging in battle. It is a command, a piece of wise advice, a child’s innocent request to play.
It should have been in every piece of revolutionary document for independence and freedom.
“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and pursuing the shit out of Happiness.”

Leave a Reply

