Hero by day; Engineer by night

“Thank you so much for debugging that issue for us, how did you ever figure out that it was the timing between the client and server that was causing the weather pattern to be distorted like that?”
“Oh don’t mention it. As soon as I started looking at the wireshark captures of the ethernet packets I could tell what was going on. But what clued me into it was how the server would update the texture even if valid weather pattern wasn’t being received.”
“That’s really amazing!”
“I know”
As our hero walks back to his desk, he is stopped by a fellow group member.
“Hey, can you help me understand this? Why does this document reference version 5 as the previous baseline? We’re at 8 right now, shouldn’t we reference version 7?”
“No. I don’t know if you recall, but a couple years ago we released version 5 and then the customer found a few issues during formal testing and we branched off to make quick changes to 5 to release 6. Then another issue was found and we incremented 6 to 7. And then later we rolled all those changes onto the main branch so technically 5 is the last time we officially released”
“Oh! Man.. how can you keep track of all this stuff? You must have an amazing memory!”
“I do”
As our hero settles into his desk, another fellow group member comes in..
“I don’t get it at all! Tell me something, when do we use IPCs and when do we produce data on the bus?”
“Well, IPCs are for communication between processes and producing data on the bus is to communicate information outside of the unit”
“Ok, so then why does the window controller produce the window information on the bus?”
“Does it?”
“Yah, that’s how our I/O receives the window information, right?”
“Maybe it does, but that wouldn’t make any sense, because our test benches don’t have the necessary equipment for bus communication, so if that’s what I/O used to receive window information, we wouldn’t see anything right?”
“… shit.. yah.. but then I don’t get it, how does the I/O get window information then?”
“Well it’s gotta get it from an IPC then, that’s the only thing that’ll make sense”
“Do you know what part of the code that’d be in?”
“Let’s see here.. you just follow the validation, and then it gets passed the window information and so if we find who calls this function.. There! Right there, it’s definitely reading from an IPC.”
“Oh man.. I’ve been looking for that for like two hours now. What’re you? Mr. know-it-all?”
“Yah i am”

As our hero gets home later that night he’s met by a guest at his house. They sit down for dinner and have some light conversation.
“So what do you do?”
“I’m an engineer for this one firm”
“Oh yah! I’ve heard of that firm, so what do you do there?”
“I’m a software engineer so I write programs”
“Cool”
“Yah it is”

Tune in next week when our hero tackles a missing requirement in the design document that the test team needs to be able to validate the software!

Leave a Reply

